This just might be the oldest house in Philadelphia and it sits at 1548 Adams Avenue in Frankford. See some of the history of the house below:
- 2 story Stone rubble (Frankford Creek stone) house
- 300 Sq perch property–1712
- 10 Apr 1718 John Worrell, maltster and George Winter, yeoman ( Phila Deed book,V4 book F p 425)
- House built somewhere between 1712 and 1718
- 3 AUG 1728 owned by Paul Willmerton and his wife Catherine to Isaac Leech (Phila. deed book 7 vol 4 pg 423)
- 1744- Isaac Leech willed to Isaac Leech (son) and wife Sarah
- 1785- Isaac Leech and wife Sarah to John Diehl
You can see by the sign that this property is in danger. The Historical Society of Frankford’s newly formed Historic Property Committee has the intention to not only serve as a watch dog group for historic properties, but also to identify properties that could be nominated for the Phila. or National Register. The committee is in the process of documenting the existing properties of Frankford and taking photos. A brochure will be done with the help from Preservation Alliance (a grant) with some of the properties .
Frankford’s biggest asset is it’s intense and fascinating history!!! And we still have buildings to prove it.